Concert program 2016

It’s already mid-April which means we will recommence rehearsals in a few weeks!

We have just about finalised our concert programs for the rest of 2016. As well as symphonies by Borodin, Beethoven and Mozart, we’ll be welcoming some acclaimed guest soloists during the year: soprano Lee Abrahmsen, the Sydney-based Streeton Trio, and pianist Glen Riddle.

More details are on our Concert Program page.

Concert Program: Saturday, 28th November 2015

Time flies – next week we’ll start rehearsing for our final concert of the year, on Saturday 28th November 2015 (note the different night of the week).

Another great program to look forward to:
* Mendelssohn – Overture to “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”
* Wieniawski – Violin Concerto No. 2 – with soloist Mi Yang
* Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 5

Poster 28-Nov-2015-small

Tickets are available online, by clicking on “TICKETS” above.

Concert program for Friday 12th June

We’re excited to announce the program for our next concert on Friday 12th June – an evening of Russian music from the Romantic Period:

* Tchaikowsky – Polonaise from Eugene Onegin
* Tchaikowsky – Piano Concerto No.1 (featuring acclaimed soloist David Soo)
* Borodin – Symphony No.1

Tickets are available under the ‘Tickets’ tab above. We look forward to seeing you there.

Concert 3 Next Week – 5th September

There is a little over a week remaining before our next concert on Friday the 5th of September at the James Tatoulis Auditorium, MLC Hawthorn from 8pm.  We are performing a selection of music for Bizet’s opera Carmen for which we will be joined by Rebecca Gulinello (soprano), Angela Hogan (mezzo soprano) and Nathan Lay (baritone).  The second half of the concert will be a performance of Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No2.  Tickets can be purchased at the door or at a discounted price online.

We look forward to your company on the night.

Concert 3 – 5th September 2014

Rehearsals are underway for the third concert in this years series.  We are joined by Rebecca Gulinello (soprano), Angela Hogan (mezzo soprano) and Nathan Lay (baritone) performing selections for Bizet’s Opera Carmen.  For the second half of the evening the orchestra will be present Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No.2.  Tickets are available through the trybooking website or via the link on the Tickets page.

Meanwhile the development of the website moves on.  The new site is being developed using WordPress, an open source program.  As with all these things there is a rather steep learning curve and the soloist’s biographies will be added shortly.  Similar the lay out of the pages and the ability to search past programs and performers will be added as the site and authoring skills develop.